top of page


The seven candles known as Mishumaa Saba represent the seven principles of Kwanzaa. The black candle represents the first principle Umoja (unity) and is placed in the center of the kinara. The red candles represent the principles of Kujichagulia (self-determination), Ujamaa (cooperative economics) and Kuumba (creativity) and are placed to the left of the black candle. The green candles represent the principles of Ujima (collective work and responsibility), Nia (purpose) and Imani (faith) and are placed to the right of the black candle. The black candle is lit first on the first day of the celebration. And the remaining candles are lit afterwards from left to right on the following days. This procedure is to indicate that the people come first, then the struggle and then the hope that comes from the struggle.

Kuumba (Creativity)

January 1, 2024

To do always as much as we can to leave our community more beautiful and beneficial than we inherited it.

Nia (Purpose)

December 30, 2023

To make our collective vocation the building and developing of our community in order to restore our people to their traditional greatness.

Ujamaa (Cooperative Economics)

December 28, 2023

To build and maintain our own stores, shops and other businesses and to profit from them together.

Umoja (Unity)

December 26, 2023

To strive for and maintain unity in the family, community, nation, and race.

Imani (Faith)

December 31, 2023

To believe with all our hearts in our people and the righteousness and victory of our struggle.

Ujima (Collective Work and Responsibility)

December 29, 2023

To build and maintain our community together and make our community’s problems our problems and to solve them together.

Kujichagulia (Self-Determination)

December 27, 2023

To define ourselves, name ourselves, create for ourselves and speak for ourselves.

bottom of page